Uncategorized

Spiritual Journey – 101

Good Afternoon!!

I bless God for another day that He has made for us. Let’s all be sure to be thankful to God – and SAY SO!!
-Enter into His gates with thanksgiving and a thank offering and into His courts with praise! Be thankful and SAY SO to Him..-(Psalm 100:4)

Some of you know that I am on a spiritual journey. I am working on my Ph.D in Theology. Actually, my husband, Dewitt, and I are on this journey together, as both of us are working towards our theology degrees -It’s been great thus far.- Dewitt graduated with his first BS in Engineering from SIU-Carbondale and I received my BA in Psych from the University of Missouri-STL. We are currently taking classes at Life Christian University. Each course is a four week program of Study. The class we’re taking now, Methods of Bible Study, requires much personal discipline and a measure of self control – And although I haven’t been putting my portion to work, AS I SHOULD, God says that I do possess Self Control!!
-For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of self control.- (2Tim 1:7)

So Anyway, the course requirements include daily homework…and I have never been a fan of homework…Thus I am required to keep a dedicated notebook for the class, where I record a daily, spiritual diary. Also, I have to complete a Book Study on 1 John…and a Chapter Study on Galatians 5…and a Topical Study on the ‘Fear of God’…and a Character Study on Silas…and a Word Study on the Greek word, ‘power’…and all of this ONLY counts for 30% of our grade. WOW!! Finally, there is the 500 Word/2 page research paper (not too bad!) that counts for the remaining 80%. So as you can imagine, I’ve been a little preoccupied, a little distracted, and also a little undisciplined. I have really had to battle for control of my mind, so that I can stay focused on the prize and not focused on the pain. The Holy Spirit has had to remind me (one of His many jobs) that Jesus had to do the same thing in Hebrews 12:2.
-He, for the joy [of obtaining the prize] that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising and ignoring the shame, and is now seated at the right hand of the throne of God. -Amplified

So I am pressing toward the mark of acquiring my Ph.D in Theology as well as the call to excellency in Christ, as His disciple – Until I stand before his glorious throne.
Everyday I am seeking to know a little more about Jesus…HIS WORD IS TRUTH…and after all, That’s what makes us free!!
– If you abide in My word [hold fast to My teachings and live in accordance with them], you are truly My disciples. And you will know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free (Jn 8:31)-

Beloved, we need your effectual, fervent prayers as we go forth on this journey with our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

As always-

God Loves You and So do I!!

Tam

Standard

Leave a Reply

