Uncategorized

Can’t Sleep…Read the Psalms!!

-I am weary with my groaning; all night I soak my pillow with tears, I drench my couch with my weeping. My eye grows dim because of grief; it grows old because of all my enemies
(Psalms 6:6)

Hey Neighbor,

img_0887

Did you know that David wrote most of the 150 Psalms? This was his mental/emotional therapy as he suffered through the greatest trials of his life. Read Psalms 6:6 above again….

Here David describes his own experience with insomnia and great mourning. Notice that he describes a night, devoid of sleep. I can imagine that his eyes were red and heavy with bags underneath because he tells us that he has been awake all night crying intensely. Of course his pillow is not literally soaked, nor his bed flooded, but David wants us to know that he has had a long, tear-filled night, crying out to God for fear of his enemies.

Well, like David, I needed some mental/emotional therapy also, because I’ve been battling some health issues and I’ve found myself struggling with my own bouts of insomnia…For hours and hours, through what seemed like endless night after endless night, My mind would just race like crazy with thoughts of impending doom, until I finally decided to take the Holy Spirit’s advice to calm myself, during my long worry-filled nights with a Psalm to Lord, so I wrote my own psalm….After all, a psalm is simply a poem, only it was written to be sung to the Lord as a hymn. It is a poem that reveals the emotional intensity of someone’s personal experience with suffering and/or sometimes celebration…We’ll, I certainly would have rathered be awake at 3am celebrating, but unfortunately, my experience was that of suffering…Here’s my Psalm!!
***************

Your life for mine, the ghost You gave
and my wretched sins, yes You forgave
So that the windows of my soul might see your face,
‘Til then I abide in that secret place
Awaiting the day my eyes behold Your Light,
sitting next to my Father- just there at His right
Grasping tightly to Your word, Lord I still stand
Praying for the mercy of your healing hand
Though sudden death lurks all about
And it’s hard for me to silence the doubt
I’ve questioned your will because of my fear
Still believing You know me and my prayers You still hear
I know it’s Not long before Your Love is revealed
And I’ll will shout to the world,
YES, I am healed!!!

I hope that you were comforted by my Psalm and that it re-stimulates your confidence in God and reminds You that He is still with You, even in your time of trouble…when His voice seems silent and when it seems His face cannot be found…He wants Us to lay our worries and concerns upon Him…not within Ourselves…lest anxiety take root in Our lives.

So, Remember This…As I am also reminded by the Holy Spirit!!
************

-You’re not the only ones plunged into these hard times. It’s the same with Christians all over the world. So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ – eternal and glorious plans they are! – will have you put together and on your feet for good. He gets the last word; yes, he does!!
(1 Peter 5:8)

And Remember This Also….

God Loves You and So Do I!!
-Tam

Standard

Leave a Reply

